Click to Home
Go To Search
Click to Home
Email pagePrint page
May 5, 2018 General Election
A general election will be held May 5, 2018 to elect a Mayor and Place 1 Council Member.  They will be elected to a three-year term of office.

Applications for place on the ballot will be accepted January 17, 2018 through February 16, 2018 by 5:00 p.m. at the City Secretary's Office, 111 N. Powell Pkwy, Anna, Texas or by mail City Secretary's Office, PO Box 776, Anna, Texas 75409.  Notice of Filing

Applications can be picked up at City Hall, 111 N. Powell Pkwy, Anna, Texas or requested by email from the City Secretary.  

Candidate Qualifications

According to the City of Anna Charter Article 5, Section 5.02, a City Council candidate must:

  • file for office in accordance with the Texas Election Code;
  • be at least 21 years of age at the time of the election for which they are filing;
  • be a qualified voter;
  • have resided exclusively within the corporate limits of the City, or recently annexed territory, for at least 12 months before the filing date;
  • at the time of filing or while in office, be current in payment of taxes or other liabilities due the City after notice of any delinquency;
  • not file in a single election for more than one office or position as provided by this Charter; and
  • comply with all other City ordinances or resolutions that may be applicable.

The City of Anna Charter can be found as part of the Code of Ordinances.

City Council Members

The City of Anna operates under a council-manager form of government as approved by voters in 2005 through the adoption of the City Charter. The Mayor and six Council Members are elected at-large for three-year staggered terms.

Terms for the City Council Expire as Follows

Mayor and Place No. 1 - May 2018

Place No. 2, 4 and 6 - May 2019

Place No. 3 and 5 - May 2020

City of Anna • 111 N. Powell Parkway, P.O. Box 776 • Anna, TX 75409-0776 • Ph. (972) 924-3325 • Fax. (972) 924-2620
Home Home  |  Email Page Email Page  | Print Page Print  |  Calendar  |  FAQs  |  Contact Us  |  Accessibility  |  Site Map |  

Website Policy  |  Renewable Energy Windpowered | Powered by CivicPlus  | Copyright Notices