Driving Safety Course
You may request to have your citation dismissed by successfully completing a Defensive Driving Course (DSC) or a motorcycle operator training course.
If you would like to request DSC, you must request it on or before your appearance date, or that right will be lost.
The court must have a written request for you. In order to be granted DSC, the following requirements need to be met first:
- Do not take a driving safety course without first obtaining permission from the court.
- Do not go online to pay until you have all of the required paperwork turned into the court.
- Make your request on or before the appearance date on your citation in writing by certified mail, email, or in person.
- You must have and show proof of a valid Texas driver’s license or permit.
- You must have and show proof of financial responsibility or vehicle liability insurance in your name or with you listed as a driver.
- You must enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest).
- You must pay all court costs and an administration fee with a check, money order, or cash (only in person) when you request this option.
- If you choose to go online to pay, you MUST first turn in all DSC paperwork to the court. Pay $144 ($169 for school zone offenses) YOU ARE NOT PAYING THE FULL AMOUNT OF THE CITATION. The fine amount of the citation cost is put on hold until you complete and turn in the DSC certificate and your driving record from DSC.
- You must NOT have completed a driving safety course within the past 12 months preceding the date of the current citation. You will have to sign an affidavit affirming you have not taken the course in the past 12 months preceding.
- You must NOT have been cited for speeding 25 mph and/or over the posted speed limit.
- You will need to obtain a certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety at $10 per copy. (It is your responsibility to obtain this copy and turn it in by the end of your 90 days.) This does not need to be turned in when you sign up for DSC, but you will need to turn this in with your signed DSC certificate of completion by the 90 day that you are given.
- Driving Safety Course is NOT AN OPTION if you hold a Commercial Drivers License (CDL)
- Submit a copy of your Texas driver’s license.
- Submit a copy of your current auto insurance.
- Submit the Driver’s Safety Course Affidavit (PDF). This must be notarized.
- Submit the Defensive Driving Course Form (PDF).
- The above 2 forms must be filled out and submitted to the court with the 2 other items as well. Therefore, you will submit 4 items. Once the court has received all the required paperwork, then you can make your payment.
- Email paperwork, mail it, or bring by in person.
- $144 or $169 for speeding violations in school zones
- Payments can be made online or by calling 1-800-444-1187. You will need your citation number and the amount you are paying. Payments can also be mailed to: P.O. Box 776, Anna, Tx 75409, or brought to 120 W. 7th Street, Anna, Tx 75409.
- Where can I get a copy of my Texas Driving Record to turn in with my Defensive Driving Course (DSC)?
To obtain a certified copy of your driving record from Texas Department of Public Safety click the following link and it will be $12 to receive it instantly online. https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager If you prefer to print out the form, and mail it in, the form is on this website and your cost will be $10, but it may take longer to get your driving record.
Certified List of All Accidents and Violations on Record (Type 3A): certified version of Type 3. This record is acceptable for Defensive Driving Course (DDC).
- Where can I take a Defensive Driving Course?
The driving safety course must be approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations (TDLR). Court personnel cannot recommend a driving safety school. The yellow pages of your local phone directory usually contain a list of state-approved driving safety schools. There are also courses available online. You can find more information about Driving Safety Courses through the tdlrapproved.com.
- How do I enter a plea?
Any person who is charged with criminal act must decide upon and enter a plea on or before the appearance date on your citation. Here are the three pleas you may enter:
- No Contest. This plea means that you do not contest the State’s charge filed against you. With a plea of nolo contendre you will be found guilty, but it is not an admission by you that you are guilty. With this plea, it cannot be used against you in a civil suit for damages. When you enter this plea, you should be prepared to pay your fine in person or by mail.
- Guilty. This plea means that you are admitting that you committed the act charged, the act is against the law, and that you do not have an excuse or defense for the act. Before entering this plea, you should understand that when you enter a plea of guilty, you must pay the fine either by mail or in person.
- Not Guilty. This plea means that you deny guilt or you have a good defense in your case and that the State will have to prove what it has charged against you. If you plead not guilty, you have the right to a trial by Judge or a Jury. It is also your decision to hire an attorney to represent you in your case if you choose to do so. You do have the right to defend yourself, but if you choose to have someone else represent you only an attorney may represent you.
- The state has the burden of proving its case against you.
- You also have the right to hear the State’s evidence and to require it to prove its case against you.
- If there was a traffic accident, your plea of guilty may be used against you in a civil suit for damages incurred since you are admitting you are at fault or are the party responsible for the accident.